Synthesis Report: Impact of Visa Liberalisation on Countries of Destination

This synthesis report presents the main findings of the EMN Study on Impact of Visa Liberalisation on Countries of Destination. As of 2018, five Western Balkan and three Eastern Partnership countries benefit from visa liberalisation to the EU Schengen area, following a series of visa liberalisation roadmaps and action plans: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Monte-negro, Serbia, Republic of North Macedonia, Georgia, Republic of Moldova and Ukraine. This synthesis report explores the impact of visa liberalisation in specific areas (e.g. tourism, legal migration, bilateral cooperation) and looks at trends in irregular migration and other issues that have been observed in the EU Member States and Norway as countries of destination during the period 2007-2017. By focussing on the countries of destination, this report gives a new perspective into the impacts and challenges of visa liberalisation faced by EU Member States and Norway.
Please find below the following related documents:
 – Full Synthesis Report
– EMN Inform
– EMN Flash (one pager)
– National Report